Poems from my attempt (and failure) to do NaPoWriMo

National Poetry Writing Month, or NaPoWriMo, is in April, and I attempted to write a poem a day. I kinda failed at it, but I did make some poems. I’m just going to put them all here with their respective dates.

Day One || 4/1/15

Thinking shortly ago of sober
thoughts
The call of the bubbly offered
pulled me to the fridge
I didn’t want to resist
Free means yes,
to me,
I guess.

Day Two || 4/2/15

Romance must be dead and its
carapace has been boiled down
into ink. The newly created
fossils of what once was, archived
and re-summoned into mass
produced books.

The books drip the blood of
Murdered true romance.

Romance must be dead because
it is now a droll idiocy fawned
upon by desperates, exploited by
publishing machines hungry only
for money.

Romance is dead, but they
won’t let it die.

Day Five || 4/5/15

Where have you gone, hope?
Where has the darkness taken you?
It’s swallowed you up again and I feel like it will be a while before uncover its hiding place for you.

I don’t have time to look for you, life is getting in the way.
What’s life without daily hope?
Let’s find out because the darkness has swallowed you up again, taken you away, and left me sleepless…
And hopeless…

Where have you gone?

by Terrah Short

Leave a Reply

